Friday, 1 March, 2024

15 Oct 2011 | Press Release

news > News and Events > Page 1

EAO re-elects its board

Appointments and Promotions

The European Association for Osseointegration (EAO) has announced a new board. The association has elected a new President and board members have been re-elected. The board will remain supported by six committees. The announcements have been made during the General Assembly at the 20th EAO annual scientific meeting in Athens.

Prof. Soren Schou (Denmark) has been elected as the new President of the EAO. He has served as Interim President of the EAO since the last board meeting in June 2011, where Dr. Paul Stone (United Kingdom) regretfully resigned based on medical advice.

Prof. Pascal Valentini (France) was elected as the new President Elect. He previously served as the Secretary General.

Professor Bjorn Klinge (Sweden) takes up the role of Secretary General of the association.

Professor Alberto Sicilia (Spain) was elected as the new Treasurer. He will also chair the Communication Committee. Professor Alberto Sicilia takes over the role of Treasurer from Professor Marc Quirynen (Belgium), who was the Treasurer of the association for many years.

Professor Marc Quirynen left the board. The EAO, its Board of Directors, its committees and its members would like to thank Professor Marc Quirynen for his many years of service and his dedication to the association. He will stay closely involved in other activities of the EAO.

The European Association for Osseointegration's Board of Directors has decided not to include any new Board Members until its meeting in Copenhagen in 2012.

Furthermore, the EAO council has a new chair Dr. Franck Renouard (France) taking over from Professor Massimo Simion (Italy).

The EAO board will remain supported by six committees. The Congress Committee is taking the lead of organising the annual congress which next year takes place in Copenhagen from October 10th to 13th 2012. The Abstract Committee is responsible for the selection of scientific submissions for the congresses.

The Junior Committee consists of top young international implant dentists and researchers who work together to support the activities of the Board. Also at the annual meeting in Athens, Dr. Theodoros Kapos (Greece) has been elected as new Chairman, succeeding Dr. Isabella Rocchietta (Italy).

The Certification Committee coordinates the EAO certificate programme in implant dentistry, which is the first European assessment within this field. Professor Henning Schliephake (Germany) has been elected as the new Certification Committee Chair. He is replacing Herr Professor Georg Watzek (Austria).

The Consensus Conference Committee is finalising the planning of the next Consensus conference, taking place next February 2012 in Switzerland. The results are compiled and published in the Clinical Oral Implants Research Journal.

The Communications Committee is responsible for enhancing awareness of the EAO and raising the profile of the association as the European reference in implant dentistry. As stated, Professor Alberto Sicilia will now chair this committee.



Surgery Design


Stream the latest dental videos...
SofaCON 2020: What does the future of Infection Control look like post-COVID-19?

Sponsored Links...

Upcoming Events...

Mar 06 2024
Mar 09 2024
Mar 12 2024
Mar 13 2024
Mar 13 2024
Mar 14 2024

Expodental 2024

Madrid, SPAIN

Mar 15 2024
Mar 16 2024
Mar 21 2024

ADX24 Sydney


Mar 22 2024
Apr 05 2024
Apr 12 2024
Apr 16 2024

Dentists Behaving 'Very' Badly


Apr 19 2024
Apr 19 2024

IDEM Singapore 2024

Singapore, SINGAPORE

Apr 23 2024
Apr 24 2024
May 01 2024
May 02 2024
May 09 2024
May 11 2024
May 14 2024
May 22 2024
May 24 2024
May 29 2024
May 30 2024
May 31 2024

Scottish Dental Show 2024


May 31 2024

Famdent Show Mumbai 2024

Mumbai, INDIA

Jun 01 2024
Jun 06 2024
Jun 09 2024
Jun 11 2024
Jun 22 2024
Jul 16 2024
Jul 25 2024
Aug 23 2024
Aug 29 2024

Practical Endodontics Workshop


Sep 07 2024
Sep 14 2024
Sep 26 2024
Oct 03 2024
Oct 10 2024
Oct 17 2024

ADOHTA 2024 National Congress


Oct 24 2024
Nov 13 2024
Nov 29 2024
Mar 25 2025

IDS 2025

Cologne, GERMANY

May 08 2025